• 22. Construction Superintendent

    Who Benefits from ‘Opportunity Zones’?

    By Michael Rainey

    Governors have until today to nominate “opportunity zones” that are intended to bring investment capital and jobs to low-income communities in their states. The GOP tax bill established rules for the...

  • Will Ancient IRS Technology Eat Your Tax Refund?

    By Michael Rainey

    An essential piece of software involved in processing millions of tax returns for the IRS is “old enough to be a grandparent,” reports Nextgov , and officials are worried about what would happen if...

  • Chart of the Day: US Household Income

    By Michael Rainey

    The Congressional Budget Office released a new report Monday on the distribution of income in the U.S. Ignoring means-tested transfers and federal taxes, the average household income in 2014 was $19,...

  • Democrats’ New Weapon in the Tax Wars: Interactive Maps

    By Michael Rainey

    The political battle over the effects of the Republican tax cuts is heating up, with Democratic lawmakers on the Joint Economic Committee releasing a set of interactive maps Monday designed to show...

  • Minor League baseball players stretch in Maryland before game

    Tax Bill Throws Wicked Curve at Pro Sports Teams

    By Michael Rainey

    Thanks to a 1967 ruling from the IRS, professional sports franchises have made trades without worrying about taxes. Under the rule, player contacts were swapped as “like-kind property,” a tax-free...

Taxes Directory

Friday, September 1, 2017 - 1:50pm
Thursday, August 31, 2017 - 4:11pm
Wednesday, August 30, 2017 - 5:00pm
Wednesday, August 30, 2017 - 11:45am
Friday, August 25, 2017 - 12:09pm
Thursday, August 24, 2017 - 11:19am
Tuesday, August 22, 2017 - 2:45pm
Monday, July 3, 2017 - 11:38am
Thursday, May 25, 2017 - 5:15am
Monday, May 22, 2017 - 12:05pm
Wednesday, May 17, 2017 - 4:45pm